COMMITTEE ON REORGANIZATION.

[In the Tabernacle, Battle Creek, Mich., April 2, 1901.]

This Committee was called together by the President of the General Conference before the close of the business session of the Conference.

There were present: Elders G.A.Irwin, S.N.Haskell, A.T.Jones, C.H.Jones, W.W.Prescott, W.D.Salisbury, I.H.Evans, J.N.Loughborough, O.A.Olsen, J.E.Jayne, Dr.J.H.Kellogg, A.G.Daniells, M.E.Cady, E.A.Sutherland, and L.A.Hoopes.

Elder G.A. Irwin was elected chairman pro tem., and L.A. Hoopes secretary pro tem.

It was then voted by acclamation, that the following persons constitute a committee on plan of organization: A.G.Daniells, Dr. J.H.Kellogg, W.D.Salisbury, G.A.Irwin, E.A.Sutherland, W.W.Prescott, and I.H.Evans.

In order to provide for the afternoon services, it was voted to request Elder S.N.Haskell to occupy the three o'clock hour in a Bible study.

A motion to adjourn prevailed, to meet at the close of the afternoon Bible study, 4:30 p.m., over the northwestern vestibule of the Tabernacle.

G.A.IRWIN, Chairman pro tem.

L.A.HOOPES, Secretary pro tem. Second meeting of Committee on Re-Organization, in President's Room, at 5:00 P. M.

Elder G. A. Irwin in the Chair.

Prayer by W. W. Prescott.

Present: G. A. Irwin, W. W. Prescott, J. H. Kellogg, N. W. Allee, I. H. Evans, E. A. Sutherland, A. T. Jones, C. H. Jones, R. M. Kilgore, J. N. Loughborough, A. G. Daniells, J. E. Jayne, M. E. Cady, W. T. Knox, O. A. Olsen, A. J. Breed, W. D. Salisbury, H. W. Cottrell, Dr. Reed, Dr. Ottosen, and P. T. Magan.

The first thing considered was the program for the business hours of April 3, when it was voted that the outline of topics to be considered would be as follows:

The Message. To be presented by W. W. Prescott.

The Field, by A. G. Danielas.

The Training of Workers, by Dr. J. H. Kellogg.

The Need and Proper Use of Funds, by I. H. Evans.

It was voted that Elder O. A. Olsen be requested to take charge of the early morning meeting.

It was further voted that E. J. Waggoner be requested to take the time at 7:00 P. M.

Considerable time was occupied in what should constitute the personnel of the Committee. This elicited a free and full discussion from various members present, some thinking that it perhaps would be better to have the Committee made up from the different delegations selecting their own man to represent them; others thinking that the voice of the General Conference in session should be the way they should be selected; when it was finally voted that this Committee nominate additional members to be submitted to the delegation.

It was moved and seconded that the following persons be nominated and placed before the delegates:

W. C. White, L. R. Conradi, F. H. Westphal, F. I. Richardson, W. A. Spicer, B. J. Cady, E. S. Butts, B. L. Howe, N. Z. Town, G. W. Caviness, W. H. Thurston, A. J. Haysmer, I. J. Hankins, M. C. Wilcox, Allen Moon, Louis Johnson, H. Shultz, W. C. Sisley, P. T. Magan, F. M. Wilcox, J. E. White, E. J. Waggoner, I. L. Stewart, John S. Reekie, J. C. Ottosen, C. C. Lewis, C. W. Irwin, Frederick Griggs, B. E. Nicola, J. W. Loughhead, the District Superintendents, and Conference Presidents.

During the discussion it was seen that there would not be time to give the subject the careful consideration that is needed before presenting these names to the delegates. It was therefore moved to adjourn until 8:30 A. M. April 3.

G. A. Irwin, Chairman pro tem.

L. A. Hoopes, Secretary pro tem.